February 05, 2013
Jazz, Vocal Pop, Traditional Pop, Vocal Jazz

Album Review

After a successful singing career in the 1950s, Tony Bennett, like many of the jazz-based crooners of his era, had a bit of a commercial falloff with the advent of rock & roll in the early '60s. Bennett, for his part, moved even closer to jazz in his stage shows, and then saw his popularity spike when his signature song, "I Left My Heart in San Francisco," became a big pop hit in 1962. It was Bennett at his best, working to the pop side of jazz, and it established him as an iconic singer and entertainer, his singing always warm, graceful, and full of an easy and offhand elegance. He picked his material carefully, avoiding novelty and trendy songs, and he built an impressive catalog of classic songs, many of which are firmly established as part of the ever-shifting American Songbook. This set collects some of his early tracks, including "Stranger in Paradise" and "Rags to Riches," but curiously, at least for a set proclaiming "golden hits," it does not include a version of his signature song.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Stranger in Paradise
  2. Cold, Cold, Heart
  3. Rags to Riches
  4. Because of You
  5. I'm the King of Broken Hearts
  6. Have a Good Time
  7. Ca, C'est L'Amour
  8. Cinnamon Sinner
  9. Stay Where You Are
  10. My Heart Won't Say Goodbye
  11. No One Will Ever Know
  12. The Boulevard of Broken Dreams
  13. Just in Time
  14. Smile
  15. Take Me Back Again
  16. Beautiful Madness
  17. Funny Thing
  18. One Lie Leads to Another
  19. Love Letters
  20. These Foolish Things