October 29, 1996
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, AM Pop, Soft Rock, Adult Contemporary

Album Review

In My Lifetime is a triple-disc, 71-track box set spanning Neil Diamond's entire career, from his early Bang hits, through his heyday at MCA, to his latter-day adult contemporary hits for Columbia. Demos, alternate takes, and live cuts are interspersed throughout the box. Not all of Diamond's greatest songs are here -- obscurities like "Two-Bit Manchild" would have been welcome -- but all of the classics are present. Aside from the flimsy book-style packaging, the only real problem with the set are the rarities. While the songwriting demos from the beginning of his career are of interest to both dedicated and casual fans, latter-day demos and alternate takes are only of interest to hardcore collectors and break the rhythm of the set. Nevertheless, if anyone wants just one Neil Diamond album, In My Lifetime is the one to get -- it has all the songs you know plus several great lesser-known gems, presented in crisp, clear sound and with an excellent biography and discography.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. In My Lifetime
  2. Hear Them Bells
  3. Blue Destiny
  4. A Million Miles Away
  5. A Good Kind of Lonely
  6. What Will I Do?
  7. At Night
  8. Clown Town
  9. Flame
  10. Straw in the Wind
  11. Solitary Man
  12. Cherry Cherry
  13. Cherry Cherry [Alternate Version]
  14. I Got the Feelin' (Oh No, No)
  15. I'm a Believer
  16. Kentucky Woman
  17. The Boat That I Row
  18. Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon
  19. You Got to Me
  20. Thank the Lord for the Night Time
  21. Red, Red Wine
  22. Shilo
  23. Brooklyn Roads
  24. And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind
  25. Sweet Caroline
  26. Holly Holy
  27. Brother Love's Traveling Salvation Show
  28. Cracklin' Rosie
  29. Done Too Soon
  30. Morningside
  31. Soolaimon
  32. He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother
  33. Crunchy Granola Suite
  34. Play Me
  35. I Am...I Said
  36. Song Sung Blue
  37. Jonathan Livingston Seagull Suite: Prologue
  38. Jonathan Livingston Seagull Suite: Lonely Looking Sky
  39. Jonathan Livingston Seagull Suite: Skybird
  40. Jonathan Livingston Seagull Suite: Dear Father
  41. Jonathan Livingston Seagull Suite: Be
  42. I've Been This Way Before
  43. Longfellow Serenade
  44. Beautiful Noise [Home Demo]
  45. Beautiful Noise [Album Master]
  46. If You Know What I Mean
  47. Dry Your Eyes
  48. Desirée
  49. September Morn'
  50. Forever in Blue Jeans
  51. You Don't Bring Me Flowers
  52. America
  53. Love on the Rocks
  54. Scotch on the Rocks
  55. Hello Again
  56. Yesterday's Songs
  57. I'm Alive
  58. Heaven Can Wait
  59. Heartlight
  60. Just Need to Love You More
  61. You Make It Feel Like Christmas
  62. Falling
  63. Dancing to the Party Next Door
  64. The Story of My Life
  65. I'm Sayin' I'm Sorry
  66. If There Were No Dreams
  67. Headed for the Future
  68. Hooked on the Memory of You
  69. Angel Above My Head
  70. Everybody
  71. In My Lifetime