October 15, 1996
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

Paula Cole's songwriting and musical skills sharpened considerably on her second album, This Fire. Occasionally, she flirts a little too closely with Sarah McLachlan territory, but Cole has developed her own, subtly mature style, equally informed by textured electronics, light worldbeat influences, and soul-baring lyrics. "Where Have All the Cowboys Gone" may epitomize the sound of the album, but it only scratches the surface of what This Fire has to offer.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Tiger
  2. Where Have All the Cowboys Gone?
  3. Throwing Stones
  4. Carmen
  5. Mississippi
  6. Nietzsche's Eyes
  7. Road to Dead
  8. Me
  9. Feelin' Love
  10. Hush, Hush, Hush.
  11. I Don't Want to Wait
purchase full album