May 13, 1991
Jazz, Early R&B, Dixieland, Traditional Pop, Jump Blues, Early Jazz Vocals, Vocal Jazz, Swing

Album Review

What Louis Prima accomplished musically in the company of Sam Butera and the Witnesses and vocalist Keely Smith is in hard evidence on this excellent 26-track compilation. All the classics are aboard with excellent liner notes from Scott Shea and crisp transfers of the original masters ("Angelina-Zooma Zooma," "That Old Black Magic," "I've Got You Under My Skin," "Buona Sera" -- which includes a great snippet of studio chatter kicking it off -- "Oh Marie," and the obligatory "Just a Gigolo-I Ain't Got Nobody"). Although this duplicates several tracks with Rhino's Zooma! Zooma! compilation, with the addition of several singles and unissued tracks, this stands as the best single-disc collection available of Prima's tenure with Capitol Records. The perfect place to start your Louis Prima collection.
Cub Koda, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Just a Gigolo/I Ain't Got Nobody
  2. Oh Marie
  3. Buona Sera
  4. Jump, Jive, An' Wail
  5. Basin Street Blues/When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  6. The Lip
  7. Whistle Stop
  8. 5 Months, 2 Weeks, 2 Days
  9. Banana Split for My Baby
  10. There'll Be No Next Time
  11. When You're Smiling (The Whole World Smiles With You)/The Sheik of ...
  12. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  13. I've Got the World on a String
  14. Pennies from Heaven
  15. Angelina/Zooma Zooma
  16. Beep! Beep!
  17. Embraceable You/I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good
  18. Sing, Sing, Sing
  19. That Old Black Magic
  20. The Music Goes 'Round and Around
  21. Hey Boy, Hey Girl
  22. Lazy River
  23. I've Got You Under My Skin
  24. You're Just in Love
  25. Twist All Night
  26. St. Louis Blues
purchase full album