January 16, 1991
Vocal Music, Torch Songs, Standards, Vocal Jazz

Album Review

Most of the music on this CD reissue dates from 1966-1967, featuring the unique singer-pianist Nina Simone joined by a funky rhythm section (with Eric Gale and Rudy Stevenson on guitars and organist Ernest Hayes) in addition to Buddy Lucas on tenor and harmonica; a few of the other selections utilize a larger backup group. Simone is the star throughout the blues-based material, performing fresh and emotional versions of such songs as Lil Green's "In the Dark," "My Man's Gone Now," "Since I Fell for You," and "The House of the Rising Sun." Some of Simone's original songs deal frankly with love and sex while others protest racism and poverty. Stimulating and still-timely music.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Do I Move You?
  2. Day and Night
  3. In the Dark
  4. Real Real
  5. My Man's Gone Now
  6. Backlash Blues
  7. I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl
  8. Buck
  9. Since I Fell for You
  10. The House of the Rising Sun
  11. Blues for Mama
  12. The Pusher
  13. Turn Me On
  14. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  15. Go to Hell
  16. I Shall Be Released
  17. Gin House Blues