November 25, 1996
Apollo Music
Electronica, Ambient, Techno

Album Review

Sun Electric's third studio-born long-player for Apollo is a return to beat-oriented territory after the more chilled tones of their previous live album. Although a few tracks echo the trancier rhythms of Kitchen and Aaah..., much of Present is on a breakbeat, IDM tip. But while for some this amounts to a criticism of Sun Electric's jungle trendiness, in fact few of the rhythms on the album are reducible to drum'n'bass, with more subtle beat layering and rhythmic eruptions aligning the group with ambient/experimental electro/techno artists such as the Black Dog or Tournesol.
Sean Cooper, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Spreedwald
  2. Stimpak
  3. Eya
  4. Parallax
  5. Bagaito
  6. Cristal Bollore
  7. Goldstück
  8. Quaila
  9. Waitati Post
  10. Tassajara
  11. Wassa
  12. In Vitro
  13. Uschba
purchase full album