Jazz, Dixieland, Early Jazz, New Orleans Jazz Revival

Album Review

This CD reissues one of cornetist Jim Cullum's American Jazz releases from 1979, augmenting the eight selections with four songs recorded in 1990 but not previously out. Cullum's band (with the exception of a change in drummers) had the same personnel on both dates (including trombonist Mike Pittsley, clarinetist Allen Vache, pianist John Sheridan, banjoist Howard Elkins, bassist Jack Wyatt and either Kevin Hess or Ed Torres on drums) and its appealing brand of extroverted yet thoughtful Dixieland stayed the same. Hot jazz fans will certainly enjoy this music which is highlighted by "Big Boy," "Irish Black Bottom," "Ole Miss," "Tank Town Bump" and "Swing That Music."
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Big Boy
  2. Take Your Tomorrow
  3. I've Got a Crush on You
  4. Canal Street Blues
  5. Irish Black Bottom
  6. Bienville Blues
  7. Ole Miss
  8. Sweet Like This
  9. Frog-I-More Rag
  10. Blue Prelude
  11. Tank Town Bump
  12. Swing That Music