Little Dog Records
Country, Progressive Country, Bakersfield Sound, Alternative/Indie Rock, Roots Rock, Alt-Country

Album Review

Before moving to California and beginning his successful association with country singer Dwight Yoakam, Pete Anderson cut his musical teeth in Detroit playing rock & roll and R&B. It comes as no surprise then that on his first solo outing he would stray from the signature country string-bending style that had become his trademark. From the bluesy strut of Anderson's own "Working Class" to the gorgeous instrumental reading of the oft-covered Ruby & the Romantics classic "Our Day Will Come" along with the Texas blues shuffle take on Jimi Hendrix's "Fire," Anderson's relaxed delivery -- both vocally and with his always-captivating guitar playing -- emits the feeling that there was little pressure in making this record. He and his band sound like they are having a great time. There are hints of country and folk (a solo cover of Dylan's "She Belongs to Me"), but primarily this is a blues record and a fine one at that. An enjoyable and insightful look at one of country music's most innovative and influential guitarists.
Jack Leaver, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Working Class
  2. Where the Crows Go
  3. Our Day Will Come [Instrumental]
  4. Stateside Charlie
  5. She Belongs to Me
  6. Muddy Night at the Opera [Instrumental]
  7. Fire
  8. Somewhere a Long Time Ago [Instrumental]
  9. Blue Hour
  10. Tomorrow Night
  11. What About Me?
purchase full album