Country, Alternative Country-Rock, Alt-Country, Americana, Neo-Traditional Folk, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock

Album Review

Insurgent Country, Vol. 1: For a Life of Sin is the first in a collection of compilations featuring artists who perform country and American roots music and who are uncompromising in their dedication to each individual musical vision. The term "insurgent country" has been used to describe a growing faction of artists who reach back to traditional foundations, bringing them forward and injecting their own personal styles. The first volume primarily focuses upon an already-established Chicago country and roots community that dates back to the 1920s when the WLS National Barn Dance began its reign. Although the first volume is the weakest of the three, it's definitely worth a listen, with a good cross-section of the '90s alternative country scene, including strong tracks by Robbie Fulks ("Cigarette State") and Freakwater ("Drunk Friend"), as well as the legendary Chicago stalwarts the Sundowners ("Rockin' Spot").
Jack Leaver, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Way Out West
  2. Over the Cliff
  3. Tragic Woman
  4. Drunk Friend
  5. Cry Baby
  6. Cigarette State
  7. Rockin' Spot
  8. That Truck
  9. Doghouse
  10. Every Kinda Everything
  11. Moving Furniture Around
  12. If She Wasn't on Blocks
  13. Flannel Boogie
  14. Suburbia
  15. Sucker for a Trucker [Live]
  16. Hole in the Ground
  17. You Don't Know What Lonesome Is