November 19, 1996
Mo Wax
Electronica, Trip-Hop, Electronica, Ambient Breakbeat, Turntablism, Underground Rap, Left-Field Hip-Hop

Album Review

As a suburban Californian kid, DJ Shadow tended to treat hip-hop as a musical innovation, not as an explicit social protest, which goes a long way toward explaining why his debut album Endtroducing... sounded like nothing else at the time of its release. Using hip-hop, not only its rhythms but its cut-and-paste techniques, as a foundation, Shadow created a deep, endlessly intriguing world on Endtroducing, one where there are no musical genres, only shifting sonic textures and styles. Shadow created the entire album from samples, almost all pulled from obscure, forgotten vinyl, and the effect is that of a hazy, half-familiar dream -- parts of the record sound familiar, yet it's clear that it only suggests music you've heard before, and that the multi-layered samples and genres create something new. And that's one of the keys to the success of Endtroducing -- it's innovative, but it builds on a solid historical foundation, giving it a rich, multi-faceted sound. It's not only a major breakthrough for hip-hop and electronica, but for pop music.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Best Foot Forward
  2. Building Steam with a Grain of Salt
  3. The Number Song
  4. Changeling/Transmission 1
  5. What Does Your Soul Look Like, Pt. 4
  6. [Untitled Track]
  7. Stem/Long Stem/Transmission 2
  8. Mutual Slump
  9. Organ Donor
  10. Why Hip Hop Sucks in '96
  11. Midnight in a Perfect World
  12. Napalm Brain/Scatter Brain
  13. What Does Your Soul Look Like, Pt. 1: Blue Sky Revisit