Pop/Rock, Proto-Punk, Glam Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Art Rock, Experimental Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock, Dance-Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

Sound + Vision is a triple-disc box set designed to introduce Rykodisc's extensive reissue program of David Bowie's RCA albums. As a result, it has a number of idiosyncrasies that prevent it from becoming a definitive box set. Conceptually, the set was intended to showcase Rykodisc's remastering expertise, as well as the rarities lying in the vaults. Consequently, the song selection is targeted toward hardcore Bowie fans, ignoring such hits as "Jean Genie," "Starman," "Golden Years," and "Fame," among many others. However, there is an abundance of terrific rare material, including the demo for "Space Oddity," the Man Who Sold the World outtake "London Bye Ta Ta," an alternate "John, I'm Only Dancing," the soulful Young Americans outtake "After Today," and a single version of "Rebel Rebel," which arguably is better than the more familiar version. However, such rarities and unpredictable selections ("Red Sails" but not "D.J." from Lodger, live versions of "Sufragette City," "Station to Station," and "Breaking Glass") mean that the set is neither a good introduction nor a compliment to Changesbowie. Instead, it's a good, if frustrating, curio piece for collectors. [The initial pressings of Sound + Vision included a bonus disc that contained a CD-video of "Ashes to Ashes," as well as three live tracks. It was replaced in 1995 with a CD-ROM of the same material.]
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Space Oddity [Original Demo][#]
  2. Wild-Eyed Boy from Freecloud [Rare B-Side Version]
  3. The Prettiest Star [Single Version]
  4. London Bye Ta Ta [#]
  5. Black Country Rock [From the Man Who Sold the World]
  6. The Man Who Sold the World [From the Man Who Sold the World]
  7. The Bewlay Brothers [From Hunky Dory]
  8. Changes [From Hunky Dory]
  9. Round and Round [B-Side from Ziggy Sessions]
  10. Moonage Daydream [From Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust]
  11. John, I'm Only Dancing [Aladdin Sane Outtake]
  12. Drive in Saturday [From Aladdin Sane]
  13. Panic in Detroit [From Aladdin Sane]
  14. Ziggy Stardust [Live]
  15. White Light/White Heat [Live]
  16. Rock & Roll Suicide [Live]
  17. Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere
  18. Sorrow
  19. Don't Bring Me Down
  20. 1984/Dodo [#]
  21. Big Brother
  22. Rebel Rebel
  23. Suffragette City
  24. Watch That Man
  25. Cracked Actor
  26. Young Americans
  27. Fascination
  28. After Today [#]
  29. It's Hard to Be a Saint in the City [#]
  30. TVC 15
  31. Wild Is the Wind
  32. Sound and Vision
  33. Be My Wife
  34. Speed of Life
  35. Helden [1989 Remix]
  36. Joe the Lion
  37. Sons of the Silent Age
  38. Station to Station [Live]
  39. Warszawa [Live]
  40. Breaking Glass [Live]
  41. Red Sails
  42. Look Back in Anger
  43. Boys Keep Swinging
  44. Up the Hill Backwards
  45. Kingdom Come
  46. Ashes to Ashes
  47. John, I'm Only Dancing [Live][#]
  48. Changes [Live][#]
  49. The Supermen [Live][#]
  50. Ashes to Ashes [DVD]
purchase full album