March 18, 1997
Scotti Brothers
Rap, Gangsta Rap, Hardcore Rap, Pop-Rap, Old-School Rap, West Coast Rap

Album Review

West Coast Collection, Vol. 1 contains 12 sanitized versions of Californian hip-hop hits from the late '80s and early '90s, including classics by Tone Loc ("Wild Thing") and Young MC ("Bust A Move"). Although the song selection is fairly uneven -- there are cuts by stars like Kid Frost, E-40 and Spice 1, but also forgotten tracks by Rodney O & Joe Cooley and the Conscious Daughters -- it's an entertaining listen, especially for casual fans who just want a couple of hits, not a comprehensive overview.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Bust a Move
  2. U Can't Touch This
  3. Wild Thing
  4. Passing Me By
  5. I Wish
  6. U Don't Hear Me Tho'
  7. Pistolgrip Pump
  8. Trigga Gots No Heart
  9. Captain Save Them Thoe
  10. La Raza
  11. Hurricane
  12. Somethin' to Ride To (Fonky Expedition)