May 20, 1997
Music Club Records
Pop/Rock, Early British Pop/Rock, British Invasion, Instrumental Rock, Rock & Roll

Album Review

"Telstar" was a worldwide number one smash hit for the Tornados and maverick producer Joe Meek in 1962. But these so-called one-hit wonders left behind an overlooked legacy of catchy instrumentals, experimental 45s and pre-Moog and synthesizer rock. This 15-track compilation brings together the very best of their work on one disc. Meek's production on these tunes is equal parts control room freak genius and low-fi visionary. Although nothing packs the wallop of their lone mega-hit (and what really could?), Meek's use of heavy compression, freakish percussion effects and close miking earmark tracks like "Joystick," "Monte Carlo," "Jungle Fever," "Love and Fury," "Alan's Tune," and "Hymn For Teenagers." The Tornadoes may have been a studio creation of Meek's, but remain a marvelous creation nonetheless.
Cub Koda, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Telstar
  2. Hymn for Teenagers
  3. Jungle Fever
  4. Costa Monger
  5. Red Roses and a Sky of Blue
  6. Locomotion With Me
  7. Ridin' the Wind
  8. Joystick
  9. Popeye Twist
  10. Dreamin' on a Cloud
  11. Blue Blue Blue Beat
  12. The Ice Cream Man
  13. Alan's Tune
  14. Monte Carlo
  15. Love and Fury