June 03, 1997
57 Records/Epic
Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, College Rock

Album Review

Backing away from the introspective inclinations of Free-for-All, Michael Penn delivers a concise and thoroughly infectious guitar pop album with Resigned. Like most of Penn's music, the album relies heavily on Revolver-era Beatles, but his melodies are uniformly tighter and catchier than before, and producer Brendan O'Brien gives the record a crisp, attractive sound. None of the tracks initially stand out like "No Myth" or "Long Way Down," yet each song is well constructed and filled with hooks, making Resigned a terrific third album from Penn.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Try
  2. Me Around
  3. Like Egypt Was
  4. Out of My Hands
  5. All That That Implies
  6. Selfish
  7. Cover Up
  8. Figment
  9. Small Black Box
  10. Comfort
  11. I Can Tell
purchase full album