June 24, 1997
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Funk Metal, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Ska-Punk, Post-Grunge

Album Review

Sugar Ray's second album, Floored, is a noticeable improvement from Lemonade and Brownies. The group's fusion of metal, funk, reggae, and rap is seamless and confident, partially because Sugar Ray now emphasize the groove, not the guitars. The group still has difficulty writing a consistent batch of songs, but its hooks are stronger than ever, as evidenced by the single "Fly," which features a cameo from Super Cat. Nothing on the album is quite as memorable as "Fly," but the other songs have similarly infectious beats and hooks, which is especially impressive considering that Lemonade and Brownies was devoid of both.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. RPM
  2. Breathe
  3. Anyone
  4. Fly
  5. Speed Home California
  6. High Anxiety
  7. Tap, Twist, Snap
  8. American Pig
  9. Stand and Deliver
  10. Cash
  11. Invisible
  12. Right Direction
  13. Fly
purchase full album