July 25, 1989
Rap, East Coast Rap, Hardcore Rap, Golden Age

Album Review

EPMD avoided the dreaded sophomore curse and kept its artistic momentum going on its second album, Unfinished Business. Once again, the duo triumphed by going against the flow -- when MCs ranging from Public Enemy to Sir Mix-A-Lot to N.W.A weren't hesitating to be abrasive and hyper, EPMD still had a sound that was decidedly relaxed by rap standards. For the most part, EPMD's lyrics aren't exactly profound -- boasting and attacking sucker MCs is still their favorite activity. However, Erick and Parrish do challenge themselves a bit lyrically on "You Had Too Much to Drink" (a warning against drunk driving) and "Please Listen to My Demo," which recalls the days when they were struggling. But regardless of subject matter, they keep things exciting by having such an appealing, captivating sound.
Alex Henderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. So What Cha Sayin'
  2. Total Kaos
  3. Get the Bozack
  4. Jane II
  5. Please Listen to My Demo
  6. It's Time to Party
  7. Who's Booty
  8. The Big Payback
  9. Strictly Snappin' Necks
  10. Knick Knack Patty Wack
  11. You Had Too Much to Drink
  12. It Wasn't Me, It Was the Fame