November 11, 1997
Sbme Special Mkts.
Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Album Rock, Southern Rock

Album Review

In his initial solo recordings, Gregg Allman tried for a more eclectic pop approach than the Southern blues-rock of his day job with the Allman Brothers Band. His later solo work, done during breaks in the Brothers' career, was much closer to the traditional ABB sound. On his first solo album since the Allmans' reformation in 1989, he again makes what is essentially an Allman Brothers Band record without the other members, except new guitarist Jack Pearson, whose Duane Allman/Dickey Betts-style slide work is all over the disc. Allman signals the same-but-different approach by opening the album with an "unplugged" version of the Allmans' signature song, "Whipping Post," and though he adds horns to some tracks for a more R&B feel, the rest of the album finds him growling through standard-issue blues-rock, some of the songs originals, some covers, among them an excellent version of "Dark End of the Street" and an arrangement of John Hiatt's "Memphis in the Meantime" that makes it sound like a Betts country-rocker. Recovering from personnel changes, the Allman Brothers Band didn't release an album in 1997; this record should help tide their fans over.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Whipping Post
  2. House of Blues
  3. Come Back and Help Me
  4. Silence Ain't Golden Anymore
  5. Rendezvous With the Blues
  6. Wolf's A-Howlin'
  7. Love the Poison
  8. Don't Deny Me
  9. The Dark End of the Street
  10. Neighbor, Neighbor
  11. I've Got News for You
  12. Memphis in the Meantime
  13. Startin' Over
purchase full album