Buddha Records
Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Psychedelic, Alternative/Indie Rock, Proto-Punk, Experimental Rock, Art Rock

Album Review

Beefheart's first proper studio album is a much more accessible, pop-inflected brand of blues-rock than the efforts that followed in the late '60s -- which isn't to say that it's exactly normal and straightforward. Featuring Ry Cooder on guitar, this is blues-rock gone slightly askew, with jagged, fractured rhythms, soulful, twisting vocals from Van Vliet, and more doo wop, soul, straight blues, and folk-rock influences than he would employ on his more avant-garde outings. "Zig Zag Wanderer," "Call on Me," and "Yellow Brick Road" are some of his most enduring and riff-driven songs, although there's plenty of weirdness on tracks like "Electricity" and "Abba Zaba." [Buddha's 1999 reissue of Safe as Milk contained restored artwork and seven bonus tracks.]
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Sure Nuff 'N' Yes I Do
  2. Zig Zag Wanderer
  3. Call on Me
  4. Dropout Boogie
  5. I'm Glad
  6. Electricity
  7. Yellow Brick Road
  8. Abba Zaba
  9. Plastic Factory
  10. Where There's a Woman
  11. Grown So Ugly
  12. Autumn's Child
  13. Safe as Milk [Take 5][*]
  14. On Tomorrow [*][Instrumental]
  15. Big Black Baby Shoes [*][Instrumental]
  16. Flower Pot [*]
  17. Dirty Blue Gene [*][Instrumental]
  18. Trust Us (Take 9) [*]
  19. Korn Ring Finger [*]
purchase full album