April 15, 1998
Jazz, Lounge, Vocal Jazz

Album Review

A potent combination is the intelligent and earthy songwriting of David Cantor and the sultry and stylizing jazz vocals of Kelly Flint. The timbre of Kelly's voice melds magically with the main instrumentation of stand-up bass, vibes and thoughtful drums. Individual musicians dress up several tracks on guitar, baritone sax and tenor sax. Each track stands alone strongly due to the resilient Cantor construction and Flint's intoxicating delivery. Excepting the elevating treatment of Lou Reed's "Walk on the Wild Side," every track is an original deserving to stand alone as a standard. As a testament to the proficiency to the dozen-and-a-half musicians involved, the entire album was recorded live and no overdubs were used. The quirky but worthy music here bears comparison to Cole Porter. The content and approach are ideally suited to today's music fan looking back on a long cabaret jazz history and looking forward with expectation. This pairing of a wordmeister and a mistress of hip lounge is a rare and wonderful thing, so enjoy it. The twelve-page booklet includes all lyrics.
Tom Schulte, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Spasm
  2. Baby Talk
  3. Sex Without Bodies
  4. I'll Never Read Trollope Again
  5. Once Had a Woman
  6. I'm So Repentant
  7. Rue de Lappe
  8. Nirvana
  9. Ned's Big Dutch Wife
  10. Crazy
  11. Daddy-O
  12. Walk on the Wild Side
  13. Stormy
purchase full album