March 17, 1998
Pop/Rock, Soundtracks

Album Review

The soundtrack to Ice Cube's directorial debut, The Players Club (a Cube-written drama about a young woman trying to complete college by stripping in a "gentlemen's club"), was the first release on his Heavyweight Records label, a subsidiary of A&M Records. Appropriately, the album has all the makings of a big deal, featuring a terrific single from Cube, "We Be Clubbin'," plus new tracks from Brownstone, Mia X, K-Ci & Jo-Jo, Changing Faces, Kurupt, Rufus Blaq featuring Spinderella, and a duet between Master P and Ice Cube, as well as Cube working with Scarface and Mack 10. If you're familiar with the names, you'll realize that many of the cuts on the album were made in collaboration with soldiers of Master P's No Limit army, and all of The Players Club has a bass-heavy, deep groove, which works appropriately for a movie about strippers, after all. There are a few weak moments on the album, but overall, it sets a mood and sustains it, resulting in a thick, funky contemporary hip-hop record that's thoroughly enjoyable.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. We Be Clubbin'
  2. We Be Clubbin' [Remix]
  3. Who Are You Lovin'
  4. Same Tempo
  5. Under Pressure
  6. You Know I'm a Ho
  7. Splackavellie
  8. You Delinquent
  9. From Marcy to Hollywood
  10. Don't Play Me Wrong
  11. Shake Whatcha Mama Gave Ya (But Make Sho Your Niggas Pay Ya)
  12. What a Woman Feels
  13. Don't Worry (My Shorty)
  14. My Loved One
  15. Get Mine
  16. Dreamin'