March 03, 1998
Jazz, Post-Bop

Album Review

Drummer Matt Wilson's quartet (with Andrew D'Angelo on alto and bass clarinet, Joel Frahm on tenor and soprano, and bassist Yosuke Inoue) can often be hilarious in concert, sort of like avant-garde vaudevillians. Although there are some funny moments on this CD, most of the music is taken in a more straightforward fashion. The great majority of the songs are originals, other than "Hey There," Herbie Nichols' "Chit-Chatting," and Pete Seeger's "Turn, Turn, Turn." Altoist Lee Konitz makes guest appearances on two songs while "Going Once, Going Twice" has banjoist Pete McCann and a guest auctioneer (!) in Ned Sublette. In general the music is creative post-bop that is colorfully played, although hopefully a later (and much more humorous) set will be forthcoming from Wilson's quartet.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Searchlight
  2. Chit-Chatting
  3. Hey There
  4. Request Potato
  5. Going Once, Going Twice
  6. Brattleboro
  7. Land of Lincoln
  8. Andrew's Ditty
  9. The Blossoms
  10. Schoolboy Thug
  11. Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season)
  12. [Untitled Track]
purchase full album