April 21, 1998
Rhythm & Blues, Urban, Contemporary R&B

Album Review

Mya's eponymous debut is a smooth, sultry collection of well-crafted contemporary urban soul that is actually richer than the average urban record the late '90s. Part of its success lies with the teenage Mya, who has a voice that is at once innocent and knowing, and part of it lies with her excellent team of producers and songwriters. Executive producer A. Haqq Islam has assembled a stellar behind-the-scenes team -- featuring Babyface, Diane Warren, Missy "Misdemeanor" Elliott and members of Dru Hill -- which has written and produced a fine set of songs that manage to sound universal and strangely confessional. That's because many of the songs on the record are loosely about a teenager becoming a woman, which is a subject Mya can convincingly sell. There are a few weak moments, to be sure, but overall it's a thoroughly promising debut.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. What Cha Say
  2. Movin' On
  3. Baby It's Yours
  4. Keep on Lovin' Me
  5. It's All About Me
  6. If You Died I Wouldn't Cry Cause You Never Loved Me Anyway
  7. We're Gonna Make Ya Dance
  8. If You Were Mine
  9. Bye Bye
  10. Anytime You Want Me
  11. Don't Be Afraid
  12. My First Night With You
  13. Movin' On [Remix]
purchase full album