May 12, 1998
Blues, Regional Blues, West Coast Blues, Urban Blues, Piano Blues

Album Review

Like his previous two efforts for Verve, These Blues and Honey Dripper, So Goes Love doesn't really offer anything new from Charles Brown, but that' hardly a bad thing. Again, he serves up a collection of appealing, laidback blues that often drifts into jazz territory. The repertoire is a tad too predictable ("Stormy Monday," "Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child"), but the performances are so lovely that there's no reason to complain. So Goes Love is hardly the first album to pick up if you're beginning a Brown collection, but once you've been introduced to his charms, it's quite welcome.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. New Orleans Blues
  2. My Heart Is Mended
  3. (Oh! Oh!) What Do You Know About Love?
  4. Money's Getting Cheaper
  5. She's Gone Again
  6. I'll Get Along Somehow
  7. So Goes Love
  8. Stormy Monday
  9. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
  10. Ain't No Use
  11. You'll Never Know
  12. Blue Because of You
purchase full album