May 19, 1998
Jazz, Crossover Jazz, Post-Bop, Vibraphone/Marimba Jazz, Jazz Instrument

Album Review

The most influential non-Latin figure in Latin jazz is paid respectful homage by another non-Latin vibraphonist of note, Spyro Gyra's Dave Samuels, who put together a heavyweight ensemble of Latin jazz stars for the job. Like many such tribute albums, this one cannot match the original versions for panache and that special 1950s San Francisco atmosphere -- the earnest covers of "Soul Sauce" and "Viva Cepeda" attest to that -- and Samuels' own highly accomplished playing leans toward the bop and R&B idioms in rhythmic emphasis. Still, this is a pleasant, intelligent Latin jazz outing by and large, graced by the presence of Eddie Palmieri on piano, Dave Valentin on flute, David Sanchez on tenor, Ray Barretto on congas, and Steve Khan on acoustic guitar. And it might persuade Spyro Gyra fans to investigate the real deal.
Richard S. Ginell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Tjaderized
  2. Bachi
  3. Soul Sauce
  4. Delta Sierra
  5. Viva Cepeda
  6. Triste
  7. Tres Plabras
  8. Resemblance
  9. Yeah
  10. Hand Me Down
  11. Duo Plus Four
purchase full album