September 22, 1998
Universal Distribution
Country, Contemporary Country, Neo-Traditionalist Country

Album Review

Alabama Song is country singer and songwriter Allison Moorer's debut album. She attracted the attention of the general public when her song "A Soft Place to Fall" was one of the tracks picked for airplay from the Horse Whisperer soundtrack; it struck a chord with country radio listeners. That cut, along with ten others (nine of them self-penned), along with "The One That Got Away" were written with cigar chomping, chart-topping songwriter Kostas. As a first offering on a major label, writing virtually all of your own material is no mean feat. Producer Kenny Greenberg and executive producer and label boss of MCA Nash Vegas Tony Brown were firm believers in Moorer's promise. What's more compelling is that the set is a near perfect balance between classically styled country tunes and modern Nashville's more pop-oriented approach. With elder statesmen like Glen D. Hardin as arranger, and Justin Niebank as engineer, Greenberg brought in a slew of performers not normally associated with country chart success including Ashley Cleveland, Buddy Miller, Russ Taff and Louise Red. They perform alongside studio aces like guitarist Richard Bennett, Dan Dugmore, Larry Marrs, and Greg Morrow and, of course, Greenberg, a stellar guitarist. While the aforementioned cuts scored the airplay making the album a modest success, other tracks, such as the rootsy folk of "Call My Name," and the high lonesome honky tonk in the title song, "I Found a Letter," "Easier to Forget," and the late night Patsy Cline-esque swing of "Set Me Free," resonate with the alt country crowd who made her a minor patron saint. Either way, it was an auspicious beginning, but MCA cut her loose to Island after just one record. That's no reflection on the album, but on the fact that Moorer was just a little bit ahead of her time. Alabama Song has dated well and continues to be a signpost for contemporary country producers, artists and fans.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Pardon Me
  2. Long Black Train
  3. Alabama Song
  4. Call My Name
  5. The One That Got Away (Got Away with My Heart)
  6. I Found a Letter
  7. Easier to Forget
  8. Set You Free
  9. A Soft Place to Fall
  10. Tell Me Baby
  11. Is Heaven Good Enough for You
purchase full album