September 29, 1998
March Records
Pop/Rock, Post-Punk, Alternative Pop/Rock, Soft Rock, Dream Pop, Tropical, Chamber Pop, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Pop, Indie Electronic

Album Review

Losing Money & Losing Friends is a highly entertaining and informative collection. It rounds up 24 songs from bands who recorded for March Records between 1992 and 1998. The informative angle of the disc is that who knew just how many really good artists were on March? Sometimes you don't realize it until all the bands are all gathered up in one spot. You get the sweet Swedish dance-pop of Club 8, the lo-fi tunefulness of Kleenex Girl Wonder, the influential indie electronic sound and pure pop wonder of Godzuki, the powerful indie rock of the Delgados, the rinky-dink techno pop of Takako Minekawa, the charging punk-pop of Super Friendz and Ciao Bella, the sophisticated chamber indie of Holiday and Valerie Lemercier, the power pop of Outrageous Cherry, and the '60s melodrama of the unjustly forgotten Poppy Family. One can see from this list that March never got into a rut and just signed good bands, not bands that fit some preconceived notion of their sound. The first 14 tracks are taken from records released on March. The bonus for indie pop and rock fans are the ten tracks after that as they are a batch of rarities. Best among these tracks are Ciao Bella's punky, hooky "A Glorious Night at the YWCA," Holiday's melancholy "Saturday," and Outrageous Cherry's wall-of-gauze ballad "Don't Lie." Losing Money & Losing Friends is a vital artifact for anyone who wants to get on the instant nostalgia tip or for anyone who was there at the time but somehow passed by March. This is the peak of indie pop in the mid- to late '90s.
Tim Sendra, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Wish You'd Stay
  2. Love Crown
  3. Wait for Me (Please)
  4. Dormir Dans Ton Lit
  5. How Low?
  6. Karate Man
  7. Fantastic Cat
  8. Pinky
  9. Everything You Say
  10. Where Evil Grows
  11. IHOP
  12. Autohaze
  13. Ace Tone
  14. Pale Frail Lovely One
  15. Ah Que C'Est Long Deux Jours
  16. A Glorious Night at the YWCA
  17. The Friend I Once Had
  18. Fabie 1,2,3 (Beat It)
  19. Saturday
  20. The Dirge
  21. Forever a Day
  22. The Hook
  23. Ponyoak [Acoustic]
  24. Don't Lie
  25. [Untitled Track]