August 25, 1998
Electronica, Funky Breaks, Club/Dance, House, Trip-Hop, Electronica, Big Beat

Album Review

The hook here isn't so much the big-beat compilation itself as it is the DJ who mixed the program -- none other than the funk soul brother himself, Fatboy Slim. Better known to those over 30 as Norman Cook, bass player for the Housemartins and later the brains behind the charming reggae-funk outfit Beats International, he's now the king of big beat, a club music subgenre dedicated to fat, stoopid beats and pure dancefloor fun. On the Floor at the Boutique was recorded live as Fatboy mixed it at Brighton, England's Big Beat Boutique, and it's guaranteed to ruin the carpet at any party. There are contributions from artists as established as Fred Wesley (with his Horny Horns, not the Famous Flames) and the Jungle Brothers, and as obscure as DJ Tonka (whose "Phun-Ky" is an album highlight) and Bassbin Twins. It should come as no surprise that Fatboy Slim himself delivers some of the best moments on the program, including the deeply weird "Michael Jackson" and his irresistible Top 40 hit "Rockafeller Skank." Outstanding.
Rick Anderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Apache
  2. Discositdown
  3. Deaf Mick's Throwdown
  4. Because I Got It Like That
  5. Vol 1 Side 2 Track 2
  6. That Green Jesus
  7. World's Made up of This and That
  8. Michael Jackson
  9. Phun-Ky
  10. Forget It
  11. Everybody in the House
  12. Can You Feel It
  13. Acid Enlightment
  14. I'm a Disco Dancer (And a Sweet Romancer)
  15. Psychopath
  16. Break In
  17. Give Me My Anger Back
  18. Post Punk Progression
  19. The Rockafeller Skank