Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Garage Rock, Rock & Roll

Album Review

The 1994-vintage Sundazed Records CD reissue of this classic piece of '60s garage rock/psychedelia offered the best sound ever heard on the album's original ten songs, and augmented the four fully authentic Chocolate Watchband tracks with three essential bonus tracks. The most important of the latter is the group's original mix of "In the Midnight Hour" featuring David Aguilar on lead vocals, which were wiped on the officially released version (without the group's knowledge or consent) in favor of session singer Don Bennett -- it's infinitely more impressive than the much-too-thick-textured rendition that was released on the original LP, and is a further demonstration of this band's brilliance; the pounding punk-blues "Milk Cow Blues" was one of the band's earliest official recordings, although it wasn't issued in any authorized version until this CD; and "Psychedelic Trip" was the jam that evolved into the finished song "No Way Out." This edition is out of print as of 2005 and worth tracking down, especially as two of the bonus tracks are not on the Big Beat expanded-CD edition of the same album.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Let's Talk About Girls
  2. In the Midnight Hour
  3. Come On
  4. Dark Side of the Mushroom
  5. Hot Dusty Roads
  6. Are You Gonna Be There (At the Love-In)
  7. Gone and Passes By
  8. No Way Out
  9. Expo 2000
  10. Gossamer Wings
  11. In the Midnight Hour [#][*]
  12. Milk Cow Blues [#][*]
  13. Psychedelic Trip [*]