Pop/Rock, British Blues, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Album Rock, Adult Contemporary, Blues-Rock, Regional Blues

Album Review

Although Eric Clapton has released a bevy of live albums, none of them have ever quite captured the guitarist's raw energy and dazzling virtuosity. The double live album Just One Night may have gotten closer to that elusive goal than most of its predecessors, but it is still lacking in many ways. The most notable difference between Just One Night and Clapton's other live albums is his backing band. Led by guitarist Albert Lee, the group is a collective of accomplished professionals who have managed to keep some grit in their playing. They help push Clapton along, forcing him to spit out crackling solos throughout the album. However, the performances aren't consistent on Just One Night -- there are plenty of dynamic moments like "Double Trouble" and "Rambling on My Mind," but they are weighed down by pedestrian renditions of songs like "All Our Past Times." Nevertheless, more than any other Clapton live album, Just One Night suggests the guitarist's in-concert potential. It's just too bad that the recording didn't occur on a night when he did fulfill all of that potential.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Tulsa Time
  2. Early in the Morning
  3. Lay Down Sally
  4. Wonderful Tonight
  5. If I Don't Be There by Morning
  6. Worried Life Blues
  7. All Our Past Times
  8. After Midnight
  9. Double Trouble
  10. Setting Me Up
  11. Blues Power
  12. Rambling on My Mind
  13. Cocaine
  14. Further on up the Road
purchase full album