June 01, 1999
Sony Music Distribution
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Soul, Soft Rock, Album Rock, Boogie Rock, Blue-Eyed Soul

Album Review

The Best of the Doobie Brothers Live distills the 1996 double-disc set Rockin' Down the Highway into a budget-priced single disc. Rockin' Down the Highway was culled from three 1996 concerts, all of which featured all three of the band's lead vocalists: Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons, and Michael McDonald. Where that set contained a bunch of fan favorites, this pretty much concentrates on the hits ("Jesus Is Just Alright" through "What a Fool Believes" through "The Doctor"), adding "Without You," which didn't appear on the previous set. It's a fairly entertaining nostalgia trip.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Jesus Is Just Alright
  2. Rockin' Down the Highway
  3. What a Fool Believes
  4. South City Midnight Lady
  5. The Doctor
  6. Neal's Fandango
  7. Minute by Minute
  8. China Grove
  9. Dependin' on You
  10. Slack Key Soquel Rag [Instrumental]
  11. Black Water
  12. Long Train Runnin'
  13. Listen to the Music
  14. Without You