November 16, 1999
Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Hard Rock, Dance-Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

For some, the J. Geils Band seemed to spring straight out of the primitive synths and pop new wave of the early '80s. Mega hits and MTV favorites like "Centerfold" and "Freeze Frame" made the band superstars in the heyday of Michael Jackson, Duran Duran, and Huey Lewis. But the group began as blues- and soul-based bar band in 1967 and went on to clock numerous miles on the road during the '70s. They were on Atlantic during this stretch and scored a few minor hits ("Must of Got Lost"), but it wasn't until they switched to EMI in 1978 that they began breaking the Top 40 with some regularity. This U.K. roundup covers their hit-bound glory on EMI up through their last album in 1984. Along with a generous helping from the blockbuster Freeze Frame album, there are three fine blues and roots rockers from 1978's Sanctuary (including the title track) and four sides from the breakthrough Love Stinks release (the title track and "Come Back"). Completing the collection are more low-profile cuts from the live It's Showtime and the post-Peter Wolf You're Getting Even While I'm Getting Odd. Those less than thrilled by Wolf and Seth Justman's synth-riddled material from the band's hit-making prime will want to check out Rhino's Anthology instead, while fans just interested in the band's run of big hits will do fine to pick up this roundup of EMI highlights.
Stephen Cook, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Sanctuary
  2. One Last Kiss
  3. Take It Back
  4. Come Back
  5. Love Stinks
  6. Till the Walls Come Tumblin' Down
  7. Just Can't Wait
  8. Centerfold
  9. Flamethrower
  10. Freeze-Frame
  11. Piss on the Wall
  12. Angel in Blue
  13. I Do [Live]
  14. Land of a Thousand Dances [Live]
  15. Concealed Weapons
  16. You're Gettin' Even While I'm Gettin' Odd