October 26, 1973
Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Smooth Soul, Motown, Quiet Storm, Pop

Album Review

By the early '70s, Diana Ross and Marvin Gaye were in completely different creative territories. Ross was settling down as a professional diva, while Gaye was pushing his art forward with What's Going On, Trouble Man, and Let's Get It On. What they shared, apart from a mutual admiration, was that they were two of the biggest artists on Motown and that their voices sounded terrific together. So it wasn't entirely surprising that the duo teamed up in 1973 for the Diana & Marvin album. Although the album didn't produce any timeless classics, the results were still very good -- good enough for the record to be one of Ross' best efforts of the era. The highlights are the three singles ("You're a Special Part of Me," "My Mistake (Was to Love You)," "Don't Knock My Love"), but even the weaker tunes are redeemed by the duo's indelible chemistry, and that's the reason why it's worth a listen.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. You Are Everything
  2. Love Twins
  3. Don't Knock My Love
  4. You're a Special Part of Me
  5. Pledging My Love
  6. Just Say, Just Say
  7. Stop, Look, Listen (To Your Heart)
  8. I'm Falling in Love with You
  9. My Mistake (Was to Love You)
  10. Include Me in Your Life
purchase full album