July 13, 1987
Rhythm & Blues, Contemporary R&B, Urban, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Dance-Rock

Album Review

Introducing the Hardline According to Terence Trent d'Arby is a strong debut by this young singer, who wrote virtually every note, played a multitude of instruments, and claimed that this was the most important album since the Beatles' Sgt. Pepper. Hits included "If You Let Me Stay," "Dance Little Sister," "Sign Your Name," and the number one "Wishing Well." His first album is a curious mixture of old and new styles. Although the production is quite modern, d'Arby shows his roots in the work of older artists, borrowing a page or two from Michael Jackson and Stevie Wonder, while James Brown appears to have had the strongest influence on d'Arby's stage presence.
Rob Bowman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. If You All Get to Heaven
  2. If You Let Me Stay
  3. Wishing Well
  4. I'll Never Turn My Back on You (Father's Words)
  5. Dance Little Sister
  6. Seven More Days
  7. Let's Go Forward
  8. Rain
  9. Sign Your Name
  10. As Yet Untitled
  11. Who's Lovin' You
purchase full album