June 19, 2001
Real World Records
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Ethnic Fusion, African Traditions, Alternative Pop/Rock

Album Review

Taken on its own, Volume 3: Further in Time is a fun, multi-textured album that combines a club groove with traditional sounds from Celtic music, Africa, and beyond. However, it does little to distinguish itself from previous Afro-Celt Sound System releases, so for people familiar with the band's previous work, the formula seems to be wearing a little bit thin. One highlight is "When You're Falling," which features a guest vocal from Peter Gabriel, but even that pales next to Sinéad O'Connor's cameo on the previous Afro-Celt release.
Stacia Proefrock, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. North
  2. North, Pt. 2
  3. When You're Falling [Featuring Peter Gabriel]
  4. Colossus
  5. Lagan
  6. Shadowman
  7. Life Begins Again [Featuring Robert Plant]
  8. Further in Time
  9. Go on Through
  10. Persistence of Memory
  11. The Silken Whip
  12. Onwards
purchase full album