September 11, 2001
Shifty Disco
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Pop, Indie Rock

Album Review

After the dazzling reception of 1999's When Your Heartstrings Break, Beulah wasn't concerned with following things up with something fashionable. The bandmembers were near masters of crafting the perfect pop song -- for themselves -- and quite comfortable with the process. The Coast Is Never Clear captures Beulah's classy cool indie pop, akin to what came before. Singer/songwriter Miles Kurosky's quirky lyrical rants are spry, and the personal experiences behind each song allude to Beulah's unabashed nature. From the twangy licks of the bittersweet "Popular Mechanics for Lovers" to the psychedelic soul tinker of "A Good Man Is Easy to Kill," Beulah gives way to a breaking heart. Sulking and wistful, the theme works and it's not beyond measure. The pop melodies are relaxed; the harmonies are solid. "I'll Be Your Lampshade" is Beulah's country take, with sweeping horns and a sad, pathetic harmonica wallowing over a lost love. It's not necessarily fit for tears, but The Coast Is Never Clear isn't necessarily joyless. The band is sarcastically sweet on "What Will You Do When Your Suntan Fades?," while emulating what everyone has faced in the role of eager, adoring wooer. Beulah's indie cred cannot be tarnished with The Coast Is Never Clear. It's not strict rock music -- it's basic. And it's good.
MacKenzie Wilson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hello Resolven
  2. A Good Man Is Easy to Kill
  3. What Will You Do When Your Suntan Fades?
  4. Gene Autry
  5. Silver Lining
  6. Popular Mechanics for Lovers
  7. Gravity's Bringing Us Down
  8. Hey Brother
  9. I'll Be Your Lampshade
  10. Cruel Minor Change
  11. Burned by the Sun
  12. Night Is the Day Turned Inside Out
purchase full album