October 23, 2001
Electronica, Progressive Trance, Trance, Club/Dance

Album Review

Before this epic double-disc set for Ministry of Sound, the most respected spinner in progressive trance circles had never released a mix album (barring only a free CD given away with copies of Muzik magazine). While inside the booklet, Van Dyk discourses on the social ramifications of dance music as youth culture (therein the title), the music has a bit more energy. Trance fans will immediately gravitate to the driving one-note basslines, unmissable breakdowns, and occasional vocal tracks from appropriately ethereal females, though The Politics of Dancing isn't at all dance-by-numbers. Besides venturing into breakbeat and even house territory, Van Dyk also indulges in much post-production of his mix. Though often considered a sin in DJ circles, it's wholly welcome here. Most listeners here are playing along at home, after all, and a few well-placed effects are all that's needed to keep attention up. He crafts a nice transition from "Killin' Me" by Timo Maas to "B.W.Y." by Maji Na Damu and plays with his own remix of U2's "Elevation," working it into the own-production "Autumn." As difficult as it is for any trance mix album to rise from the rut of inferior product, The Politics of Dancing accomplishes at least one of the missions in the title (yes, the liner-note essay is a bit daft).
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Digital Reason
  2. Innocence [Paul Van Dyk Mix]
  3. First
  4. Feeling Good [Original Version]
  5. Vega/I Want
  6. Another Late Thursday
  7. Rapture (Tastes So Sweet)
  8. Superconcious (So Alive)
  9. Killin' Me
  10. B.W.Y
  11. Elevation
  12. Autumn
  13. Cristalle
  14. Furthermost
  15. Four Days
  16. Empire
  17. Out There
  18. Shout, C'mon [Coast to Coast Mix]
  19. Epic Monolith
  20. Massive
  21. Questions Must Be Asked
  22. Activity
  23. Interference
  24. Secrets & Lies [Solid Session Mix]
  25. Reach Me
  26. Reset
  27. Into the Night
  28. Let's Go
  29. In Progress
  30. Section O
  31. Club Attack
  32. Starchildren
  33. Dreamland
purchase full album