March 26, 2002
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Experimental Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, British Trad Rock

Album Review

Gomez is back with their third proper album, following the B-sides and rarities collection Abandoned Shopping Trolley Hotline. The time off has served them well, as In Our Gun has all the elements that made their debut so great, and then some. The album starts strong, with "Shot Shot sporting a great up-tempo Gomez groove with some tasty sax touches that show up on several tracks. As the album unfolds, it seems the Gomez boys have been listening to quite a bit of dub. There is also a bit more in the way of electronica influence and sound processing on some tracks, but Gomez never forget they're a rock band. In fact, one of their strongest assets is their ability to absorb and integrate musical influences and still sound like no one but themselves. Even though "Ruff Stuff"'s odd synth sounds and the weird psychedelic interlude in "Drench" haven't been heard from these guys before, there's no mistaking that it's Gomez. They cover a lot of musical territory, from ballads like "In our Gun" and "Sound of Sounds" to "Army Dub" to the rousing closer "Ballad of Nice and Easy," with all the effortlessness displayed on Bring It On. Great songs, cool arrangements, and excellent production; In Our Gun is another winner from Gomez.
Sean Westergaard, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Shot Shot
  2. Rex Kramer
  3. Detroit Swing 66
  4. In Our Gun
  5. Even Song
  6. Ruff Stuff
  7. Sound of Sounds
  8. Army Dub
  9. Miles End
  10. Ping One Down
  11. 1000 Times
  12. Drench
  13. Ballad of Nice & Easy