April 02, 2002
Coup D'Etat
Rap, East Coast Rap, Underground Rap

Album Review

East Coast underground rap at its finest, All of the Above showcases why J-Live is so beloved by fans of literate, well-mannered hip-hop. The focus here is on lyrics, through and through, and J-Live indeed serves up a linguistic feast for astute listeners. The pretensions of All of the Above -- from its Coltrane-esque cover art, to J-Live's disdain for commercial-minded rappers, to his thoughtful liner notes -- might turn off some listeners, particularly those less discerning ones who don't share his high-mindedness. But that's why All of the Above is an underground release: it's an album for a select audience that prefers intellect and understated beats over bombast, boasting, booty, and bluntedness.
Jason Birchmeier, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. First Things First
  2. How Real It Is
  3. Satisfied?
  4. Interlude 1 (I'm a Rapper)
  5. MCee
  6. Like This Anna
  7. One for the Griot
  8. Stir of Echoes
  9. Interlude 2 (For the Babies)
  10. Do That S#! %
  11. All in Together Now
  12. Nights Like This
  13. The 4th 3rd
  14. Travelling Music
  15. A Charmed Life
  16. All of the Above
  17. Interlude 3 (Whatever)
  18. Happy Belated
  19. Satisfied (Dub) [*]
  20. 3 Out of 7 [*]
  21. The Lyricist [*]