Sony Music Distribution
Vocal Music, Traditional Pop, Vocal Pop, Vocal Jazz, Show Tunes

Album Review

On only his third full-length, 12" LP, Tony Bennett comes up with a concept album, singing against novel percussion arrangements, backed by drummers like Art Blakey, Jo Jones, Chico Hamilton, Billy Exiner, Candido, and Sabu. Several songs feature only drums and flutes. Over this unusual instrumentation, Bennett sings beautifully, giving his usual full-voiced emotion to songs like "Lullaby of Broadway," "Let's Face the Music and Dance," and "Just One of Those Things." This was the first album to give notice that Bennett was more than just another near-operatic, melodramatic pop singer of the early '50s. Here was a man who had jazz chops, musical imagination, and a sense of swing. He was practically a hipster!
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Let's Begin
  2. Lullaby of Broadway
  3. Let There Be Love
  4. Love for Sale
  5. Crazy Rhythm
  6. The Beat of My Heart
  7. So Beats My Heart for You
  8. Blues in the Night
  9. Lazy Afternoon
  10. Let's Face the Music and Dance
  11. Just One of Those Things
  12. It's So Peaceful in the Country [#]
  13. In Sandy's Eyes [#]
  14. I Get a Kick Out of You [#]
  15. You Go to My Head [#]
  16. I Only Have Eyes for You [#]
  17. Begin the Beguine [#]
purchase full album