Charly Records
Jazz, Hard Bop

Album Review

Charly reissues Wayne Shorter's early Vee Jay material in fine CD sound. These sides contain a mix of Shorter's original compositions -- his earliest recordings of them as a leader -- and a curious batch of covers including a fine "Black Orpheus," a radical "Mack the Knife," and the Rodgers & Hart ballad "I Didn't Know What Time It Was." "Down in the Depths" has a killer frontline that includes Lee Morgan. Some of the Shorter tunes found here are simply stunning and it's no wonder Miles Davis snapped him up soon after. This is an excellent example of his gift.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Ruby and the Pearl
  2. Pay as You Go
  3. Devil's Island
  4. I Hear a Rhapsody (feat. Art Blakey & Lee Morgan)
  5. Pug Nose
  6. Dead End
  7. All or Nothing At All
  8. Tenderfoot
  9. Mack the Knife
  10. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  11. Harry's Last Stand
  12. Second Genesis
  13. Down in the Depths
  14. Black Diamond
  15. You Don't Know What Love Is (feat. Art Blakey & Lee Morgan)
  16. Getting to Know You
  17. Powder Keg
  18. Invitation (feat. Art Blakey & Lee Morgan)
  19. The Albatross
  20. Wayning Moments
  21. Moon of Manakoora
  22. Mister Chairman
  23. Pisces (feat. Art Blakey, Lee Morgan & the Jazz Messenger)
  24. Blues à la Carte
  25. Up Jumped Spring (feat. Art Blakey & Freddie Hubbard)
purchase full album