RELEASE
December 27, 1967
LABEL
Columbia
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Album Rock, Country-Rock, Blues-Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Rock & Roll, Folk-Rock, Psychedelic

Album Review

Bob Dylan returned from exile with John Wesley Harding, a quiet, country-tinged album that split dramatically from his previous three. A calm, reflective album, John Wesley Harding strips away all of the wilder tendencies of Dylan's rock albums -- even the then-unreleased Basement Tapes he made the previous year -- but it isn't a return to his folk roots. If anything, the album is his first serious foray into country, but only a handful of songs, such as "I'll Be Your Baby Tonight," are straight country songs. Instead, John Wesley Harding is informed by the rustic sound of country, as well as many rural myths, with seemingly simple songs like "All Along the Watchtower," "I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine," and "The Wicked Messenger" revealing several layers of meaning with repeated plays. Although the lyrics are somewhat enigmatic, the music is simple, direct, and melodic, providing a touchstone for the country-rock revolution that swept through rock in the late '60s.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. John Wesley Hardinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/john-wesley-harding/id177969302?i=177969304&uo=5
  2. As I Went Out One Morninghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/as-i-went-out-one-morning/id177969302?i=177969362&uo=5
  3. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustinehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-dreamed-i-saw-st-augustine/id177969302?i=177969372&uo=5
  4. All Along the Watchtowerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/all-along-the-watchtower/id177969302?i=177969461&uo=5
  5. The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priesthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-ballad-frankie-lee-judas-priest/id177969302?i=177969504&uo=5
  6. Drifter's Escapehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/drifters-escape/id177969302?i=177969589&uo=5
  7. Dear Landlordhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dear-landlord/id177969302?i=177969653&uo=5
  8. I Am a Lonesome Hobohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-am-a-lonesome-hobo/id177969302?i=177969681&uo=5
  9. I Pity the Poor Immigranthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-pity-the-poor-immigrant/id177969302?i=177969741&uo=5
  10. The Wicked Messengerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-wicked-messenger/id177969302?i=177969863&uo=5
  11. Down Along the Covehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/down-along-the-cove/id177969302?i=177969958&uo=5
  12. I'll Be Your Baby Tonighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ill-be-your-baby-tonight/id177969302?i=177970028&uo=5
purchase full album