February 10, 2004
Collectors' Choice Music
Vocal Music, Show Tunes, Vocal Pop, Cast Recordings, Latin Pop

Album Review

Originally released by Epic Records in the mid-'60s, these recordings of vocalist Nancy Ames remained out of print for many years until being reissued on CD by Collecters Choice in 2003. Twenty-two romantic melodies of the era are explored with Latin overtones including "La Sombra de Tu Sonrisa The Shadow of Your Smile" "Un Gusto a Miel (A Taste of Honey)," "A Man and a Woman (Un Homme et une Femme)" along with several pop hits made famous by the Four Tops, the Beatles, and the Association. Also tacked on as bonus tracks are the 1966 hits "He Wore the Green Beret," and "Cry Softly," making this reissue recommended for both collectors and casual listeners.
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Perdoname Mi Vida
  2. 1-2-3
  3. Un Gusto a Miel (A Taste of Honey)
  4. Eso Beso (That Kiss)
  5. Michel
  6. Carcara
  7. Ayer (Yesterday)
  8. La Sombra de Tu Sonrisa (The Shadow of Your Smile) [From the Sandpiper]
  9. Dimelo (Call Me)
  10. El Dia Que Me Quieras
  11. Pow Pow Pow (Mas Que Nada)
  12. Love's Like Wine (Love Are Wine)
  13. Cherish
  14. Laia Ladaia (Reza)
  15. Meditation (Meditacáo)
  16. I Feel Fine
  17. A Man and a Woman (Un Homme et une Femme)
  18. Reach Out I'll Be There
  19. Someone to Light Up My Life (Se Todos Fossem Iguais a Vocé)
  20. So Nice (Summer Samba)
  21. He Wore the Green Beret [*]
  22. Cry Softly [*]