May 18, 2004
Sackville Recordings
Jazz, Cool

Album Review

The first seven selections on this CD reissue a 1978 duet concert featuring the quiet guitarist Ed Bickert and bassist Don Thompson. A little reminiscent of a famous Jim Hall/Ron Carter collaboration, the music alternates introspective ballads with a couple romps, including a brisk "What Is This Thing Called Love." Bickert's playing is both swinging and sophisticated, often utilizing reharmonized chords, while Thompson functions as an equal partner. The final four selections are from a previously unreleased 1976 studio set with drummer Terry Clarke making the group a quintet. For unknown reasons this session was never completed, but the music is on the same high level as the live duet performance. In fact, the subtle drumming makes it easier for the group to swing harder, with Hoagy Carmichael's "One Morning in May" being a highlight. Recommended.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Alone Together
  2. A Face Like Yours
  3. You Are Too Beautiful
  4. What Is This Thing Called Love?
  5. Who Can I Turn To?
  6. Walkin' My Baby Back Home
  7. Please Be Kind
  8. Come Rain or Come Shine
  9. One Morning in May
  10. Ease It
  11. I'll Wait and Pray
purchase full album