May 25, 2004
Pop/Rock, British Psychedelia, Prog-Rock, Psychedelic, Art Rock

Album Review

This double-CD set assembles together all of the Immediate Records recordings of the Nice under one cover, reshuffling the contents of their self-titled third album in order to make it all fit. That means that it isn't a chronological experience (at least, not without some shifting between discs near the end of each), but otherwise it is musically very rewarding and, in keeping with the spirit of the band's music, a lot of fun. The volume level is not quite as high as one would have hoped on a CD of this vintage, but the source material is still very clean and there's a lot of detail with minimal extraneous noise (compared with early CD issues of this material) if one decides to push the amplification. It's also interesting to hear the Nice evolve from a psychedelic quartet to a progressive rock trio and get bolder and more intense on their instruments as they go along, culminating with the live Fillmore East performances from the third album. The annotation is reasonably thorough, and the whole package gives one a good overview of one of the groups that successfully bridged the gap from flower power to art rock, and in the process never forgot that the music was supposed to be fun as well.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Flower King of Flies
  2. The Thoughts of Emerlist Davjack
  3. Bonnie K
  4. Rondo
  5. War and Peace
  6. Tantalising Maggie
  7. Dawn
  8. The Cry of Eugene
  9. America [Single Version]
  10. Diamond Hard Apples of the Moon
  11. Azrael [Version One]
  12. She Belongs to Me
  13. America (2nd Amendment)
  14. Little Arabella
  15. Happy Freuds
  16. Intermezzo from the Karelia Suite
  17. Don Edito el Gruva
  18. Symphony for Group and Orchestra: Prelude/1st Movement: ...
  19. Azrael Revisited
  20. Hang on to a Dream
  21. Diary of an Empty Day
  22. For Example
  23. Rondo (69)