RELEASE
LABEL
Atlantic
GENRES
Vocal Music, Standards, Vocal Jazz, Traditional Pop

Album Review

On this popular two-LP set, singer Carmen McRae interprets songs by Duke Ellington, Cole Porter, Michel Legrand, Warren & Dubin, Henry Mancini, and Jimmy Van Heusen, among others, but it is her rendition of a humorous Jimmy Rowles novelty ("The Ballad of Thelonious Monk") that is best remembered. Joined by pianist Rowles, guitarist Joe Pass, bassist Chuck Domanico, and drummer Chuck Flores, McRae had what was at the time a rare opportunity to record a live, spontaneous, jazz-oriented set. She sounds quite enthusiastic about both her accompaniment and the strong repertoire, which includes "At Long Last Love," "I Only Have Eyes for You," "Sunday," "I Cried for You," and "I Thought About You."
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Satin Dollhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/satin-doll/id214202661?i=214202662&uo=5
  2. At Long Last Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/at-long-last-love/id214202661?i=214202686&uo=5
  3. If the Moon Turns Greenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-the-moon-turns-green/id214202661?i=214202694&uo=5
  4. Day by Dayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/day-by-day/id214202661?i=214202696&uo=5
  5. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-great-american-songbook/id214202661?uo=5
  6. I Only Have Eyes for Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-only-have-eyes-for-you/id214202661?i=214202708&uo=5
  7. Medley: Easy Living/The Days of Wine and Roses/It's Impossiblehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-great-american-songbook/id214202661?uo=5
  8. Sundayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sunday/id214202661?i=214202720&uo=5
  9. A Song for Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-song-for-you/id214202661?i=214202723&uo=5
  10. I Cried for Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-cried-for-you/id214202661?i=214202734&uo=5
  11. Behind the Facehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/behind-the-face/id214202661?i=214202743&uo=5
  12. The Ballad of Thelonious Monkhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-ballad-of-thelonious-monk/id214202661?i=214202778&uo=5
  13. There's No Such Thing as Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/theres-no-such-thing-as-love/id214202661?i=214202781&uo=5
  14. (They Long to Be) Close to Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-great-american-songbook/id214202661?uo=5
  15. Three Little Wordshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/three-little-words/id214202661?i=214202797&uo=5
  16. Mr. Uglyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mr-ugly/id214202661?i=214202799&uo=5
  17. It's Like Reaching for the Moonhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-like-reaching-for-the-moon/id214202661?i=214202823&uo=5
  18. I Thought About Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-thought-about-you/id214202661?i=214202824&uo=5
purchase full album