Vocal Music, Standards, Vocal Jazz, Traditional Pop

Album Review

On this popular two-LP set, singer Carmen McRae interprets songs by Duke Ellington, Cole Porter, Michel Legrand, Warren & Dubin, Henry Mancini, and Jimmy Van Heusen, among others, but it is her rendition of a humorous Jimmy Rowles novelty ("The Ballad of Thelonious Monk") that is best remembered. Joined by pianist Rowles, guitarist Joe Pass, bassist Chuck Domanico, and drummer Chuck Flores, McRae had what was at the time a rare opportunity to record a live, spontaneous, jazz-oriented set. She sounds quite enthusiastic about both her accompaniment and the strong repertoire, which includes "At Long Last Love," "I Only Have Eyes for You," "Sunday," "I Cried for You," and "I Thought About You."
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Satin Doll
  2. At Long Last Love
  3. If the Moon Turns Green
  4. Day by Day
  5. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?
  6. I Only Have Eyes for You
  7. Medley: Easy Living/The Days of Wine and Roses/It's Impossible
  8. Sunday
  9. A Song for You
  10. I Cried for You
  11. Behind the Face
  12. The Ballad of Thelonious Monk
  13. There's No Such Thing as Love
  14. (They Long to Be) Close to You
  15. Three Little Words
  16. Mr. Ugly
  17. It's Like Reaching for the Moon
  18. I Thought About You