February 01, 2005
Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Hair Metal, Pop-Metal

Album Review

Despite not having had a hit since the late '90s, Mötley Crüe remained impossible to ignore. Tommy Lee's high-profile romances, court dates, and television appearances -- he got his own reality show -- kept the group theoretically active well past their creative due date, and Vince Neil appeared on VH1's Surreal Life, where he shed tears with MC Hammer and endured a celebrity "makeover" complete with a face-lift, while the rest of the band chronicled their decadent heydays in the best-selling tell-all book The Dirt. The two-disc Red, White & Crüe is a far better companion to that book than 2003's exhaustive two-installment, eight-disc retrospective, Music to Crash Your Car To (was it really necessary to hear three versions of ex-vocalist John Corabi's "Hooligan's Holiday"?), and despite the addition of three new cuts (only one, the blistering "Sick Love Song," manages to recapture the group's original intensity), it's the most definitive collection yet. At their best, the Crüe were the audio equivalent of sex, drugs, and rock & roll. "Live Wire," "Looks That Kill," "Kickstart My Heart," and even the monstrous "Walk This Way" rip-off "Dr. Feelgood" showed a group that not only loved the scene but lived it like Vikings storming a sleepy village. When they were hot they were smoldering, and despite the occasional embarrassing lyric like "forward my mail to me in Hell" ("Wild Side") and misguided attempts at jumping on the punk revival bandwagon ("Anarchy in the U.K.") and the nu-metal gurney ("Planet Boom"), Red, White & Crüe serves as a crystal-clear window into a blurry world that only the Crüe could have constructed.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Live Wire
  2. Piece of Your Action
  3. Toast of the Town
  4. Too Fast for Love
  5. Black Widow
  6. Looks That Kill
  7. Too Young to Fall in Love [Remix]
  8. Helter Skelter
  9. Shout at the Devil
  10. Smokin' in the Boys Room
  11. Use It or Lose It
  12. Girls, Girls, Girls
  13. Wild Side
  14. You're All I Need
  15. All in the Name of...
  16. Kickstart My Heart
  17. Without You
  18. Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)
  19. Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.)
  20. Dr. Feelgood
  21. Anarchy in the U.K.
  22. Primal Scream
  23. Home Sweet Home ['91 Remix]
  24. Hooligan's Holiday [Brown Nose Edit]
  25. Misunderstood [Successful Format Version]
  26. Planet Boom
  27. Bittersuite
  28. Afraid [Alternative Rave Mix]
  29. Beauty
  30. Generation Swine
  31. Bitter Pill
  32. Enslaved
  33. Hell on High Heels
  34. New Tattoo [Single Version]
  35. If I Die Tomorrow [#]
  36. Sick Love Song [#]
  37. Street Fighting Man [#]