RELEASE
August 02, 2005
LABEL
Bongrass
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Jazz Instrument, Folk-Blues, Acoustic Blues, Piano Jazz

Album Review

This superior release finds Maria Muldaur returning to her roots and paying special tribute to Memphis Minnie. Assisted by such notables as singer-guitarist Taj Mahal and guitarist Del Rey, Muldaur really excels on the vintage material and in this acoustic setting. Rather than sounding like a revivalist, her sensitive and witty vocals show a real understanding for the music and make her sound like a veteran of the era even though she is about 50 years too young! For listeners who might find it difficult to get into early blues due to the primitive recording quality, Maria Muldaur's Sweet Lovin' Ol' Soul will serve as the perfect transition. This is one of her finest recordings overall.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Am Sailin'
  2. Long as I Can See You Smilehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/long-as-i-can-see-you-smile/id81899954?i=81899895&uo=5
  3. Sweet Lovin' Ol' Soulhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sweet-lovin-ol-soul/id81899954?i=81899897&uo=5
  4. Ain't What You Used to Havehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/aint-what-you-used-to-have/id81899954?i=81899901&uo=5
  5. Lookin' the World Overhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lookin-the-world-over/id81899954?i=81899903&uo=5
  6. Empty Bed Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/empty-bed-blues/id81899954?i=81899911&uo=5
  7. Tricks Ain't Walkin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/tricks-aint-walkin/id81899954?i=81899914&uo=5
  8. Crazy Cryin' Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/crazy-cryin-blues/id81899954?i=81899924&uo=5
  9. She Put Me Outdoorshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/she-put-me-outdoors/id81899954?i=81899928&uo=5
  10. Decent Woman Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/decent-woman-blues/id81899954?i=81899936&uo=5
  11. I'm Goin' Backhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-goin-back/id81899954?i=81899942&uo=5
  12. Take a Standhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/take-a-stand/id81899954?i=81899948&uo=5