March 26, 1991
Pop/Rock, Country-Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Political Folk, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Psychedelic, Folk-Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

This three-disc box set is what Dylanphiles have been waiting for, sitting patiently for years, even decades. And, even after its 1991 release, it retains the feeling of being a special, shared secret among the hardcore, since -- no matter the acclaim -- it's the kind of record that only the hardcore will seek out. Of course, the great irony is that even casual Dylan fans will find much to treasure in this three-disc set of unreleased material. They'll find songs as good as anything that made the records (sometimes surpassing the official releases, especially on the last disc), plus alternate versions (including original versions of songs on Blood on the Tracks) and long-fabled songs, from the incomplete "She's Your Lover Now" to songs cut from The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan. This doesn't just function as an alternate history of Dylan, but as an expansion of Dylan's history, enriching what is already known about the greatest songwriter of his era -- after all, every song here would qualify as the best song on anybody else's album. And that's no exaggeration.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hard Times in New York Town [Live]
  2. He Was a Friend of Mine [outtake]
  3. Man on the Street [outtake]
  4. No More Auction Block [Live]
  5. House Carpenter [outtake]
  6. Talkin' Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues [outtake]
  7. Let Me Die in My Footsteps [outtake]
  8. Ramblin' Gamblin' Willie [outtake]
  9. Talkin' Have Negeilah Blues [outtake]
  10. Quit Your Low Down Ways [outtake]
  11. Worried Blues [outtake]
  12. Kingsport Town [outtake]
  13. Walkin' Down the Line [Demo Version]
  14. Walls of Red Wing [outtake]
  15. Paths of Victory [outtake]
  16. Talkin' John Birch Paranoid Blues [Live]
  17. Who Killed Davey Moore? [Live]
  18. Only a Hobo [outtake]
  19. Moonshiner [outtake]
  20. When the Ship Comes In [Demo Version]
  21. The Times They Are A-Changin' [Demo Version]
  22. Last Thoughts on Woody Gutherie [Live]
  23. Seven Curses [outtake]
  24. Eternal Circle [outtake]
  25. Suze (The Cough Song) [outtake]
  26. Mama, You Been on My Mind [outtake]
  27. Farewell, Angelina [outtake]
  28. Subterranean Homesick Blues [Alternate Acoustic Version][Alternate Take
  29. If You Gotta Go, Go Now [outtake]
  30. Sitting on a Barbed Wire Fence [outtake]
  31. Like a Rolling Stone
  32. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry [Alternate Version]
  33. I'll Keep It With Mine
  34. She's Your Lover Now [outtake]
  35. I Shall Be Released [outtake]
  36. Santa-Fe [outtake]
  37. If Not for You [Alternate Version][Alternate Take]
  38. Wallflower
  39. Nobody 'Cept You [outtake]
  40. Tangled Up in Blue
  41. Call Letter Blues [outtake]
  42. Idiot Wind
  43. If You See Her, Say Hello
  44. Golden Loom [outtake]
  45. Catfish [outtake]
  46. Seven Days [Live]
  47. Ye Shall Be Changed [outtake]
  48. Every Grain of Sand [Demo Version]
  49. You Changed My Life [outtake]
  50. Need a Woman [outtake]
  51. Angelina [outtake]
  52. Someone's Got a Hold of My Heart
  53. Tell Me [outtake]
  54. Lord Protect My Child [outtake]
  55. Foot of Pride
  56. Blind Willie McTell [outtake]
  57. When the Night Comes Falling from the Sky [Original Version]
  58. Series of Dreams [outtake]
purchase full album