September 13, 2005
EMI Music Distribution
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock, Arena Rock

Album Review

Although this double-length live set includes only two of three surviving Queen members (guitarist Brian May and drummer Roger Taylor, with Free/Bad Company singer Paul Rodgers providing lead vocals), Return of the Champions offers some sharply executed renditions of Queen hits, as well as a few gems from Rodgers' former bands. Rodgers, wisely, doesn't attempt to replicate the flamboyant charm of Freddie Mercury. Instead, he applies his gritty, hard rock-honed vocals to the group's heavier tunes, most notably the riff-happy "Tie Your Mother Down" and the automotive power ballad "I'm in Love with My Car." May is in top form here, particularly on his seven-minute solo, proving that he's still capable of the six-string pyrotechnics that made him a guitar hero.
Eric Schneider, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Reaching Out
  2. Reaching Out
  3. Tie Your Mother Down
  4. Tie Your Mother Down
  5. I Want to Break Free
  6. I Want to Break Free
  7. Fat Bottomed Girls
  8. Fat Bottomed Girls
  9. Wishing Well
  10. Wishing Well
  11. Another One Bites the Dust
  12. Another One Bites the Dust
  13. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
  14. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
  15. Say It's Not True
  16. Say It's Not True
  17. '39
  18. '39
  19. Love of My Life
  20. Love of My Life
  21. Hammer to Fall
  22. Hammer to Fall
  23. Feel Like Makin' Love
  24. Feel Like Makin' Love
  25. Let There Be Drums
  26. Let There Be Gene
  27. I'm in Love with My Car
  28. I'm in Love with My Car
  29. Guitar Solo
  30. Guitar Solo
  31. Last Horizon
  32. Last Horizon
  33. These Are the Days of Our Lives
  34. These Are the Days of Our Lives
  35. Radio Ga Ga
  36. Radio Ga Ga
  37. Can't Get Enough
  38. Can't Get Enough
  39. A Kind of Magic
  40. A Kind of Magic
  41. I Want It All
  42. I Want It All
  43. Bohemian Rhapsody
  44. Bohemian Rhapsody
  45. The Show Must Go On
  46. The Show Must Go On
  47. All Right Now
  48. All Right Now
  49. We Will Rock You
  50. We Will Rock You
  51. We Are the Champions
  52. We Are the Champions
  53. God Save the Queen
  54. God Save the Queen
purchase full album