October 25, 2005
Idlewild Recordings
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, College Rock

Album Review

They Might Be Giants are one of too-few bands that manage to make compilations that are as cohesive and enjoyable as their regular full-length albums. They Got Lost is no exception -- a collection of truly rare rarities, it shows once again that the group's more obscure songs are quite often just as great as their best-known ones. Many of the tracks here come from They Might Be Giants' relationship with the music download service EMusic, including the sweetly sad alt-country of "Words are Like (Demo)"; "Reprehensible"'s bright, swingy lounge; and the more typical quirky rock of "On the Drag," "I Am a Human Head" and "Certain People I Could Name." Sometimes the origins of the songs are even more unusual than the songs themselves: "Oranges" and the very silly "Oranges Testimonial" were commissioned by the Chopping Block, a graphic design firm. "Theme to McSweeney"'s celebrates Dave Eggers' beloved literary webzine with Wendy Carlos-style baroque electronics, and "I'm Sick (of this American Life)" pays homage to the National Public Radio show with weary, tongue-in-cheek wit; meanwhile, "Rat Patrol" (another EMusic track), with its charging pianos and guitars, sounds like the theme song to a TV show that never was. One of They Got Lost's best songs actually did appear in a TV show: "All Alone," the strangely bittersweet story of a germ launched into outer space, appeared on "Brave New World," a special series produced by ABC's Nightline. Though this collection isn't quite as consistent as, say, Miscellaneous T, They Got Lost is still a lot of fun (especially on off-the-cuff tracks like "Disappointing Show") and a must for any die-hard TMBG fans that don't already have these songs.
Heather Phares, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Rest Awhile
  2. Truth in Your Words
  3. On the Drag
  4. All Alone
  5. Down to the Bottom of the Sea
  6. I'm Sick (Of This American Life)
  7. Words Are Like [Demo Version]
  8. I Am a Human Head
  9. Oranges
  10. Empty Bottle Blues
  11. They Got Lost
  12. Reprehensible
  13. Rat Patrol
  14. The Army's Tired Now
  15. Certain People I Could Name
  16. Theme to McSweeney's
  17. Dollar for Dollar
  18. Mosh Momken Abadon
  19. Token Back to Brooklyn
  20. Disappointing Show
  21. Oranges Testimonial
purchase full album